• Williamson named as Kiwi Player of the Year

    New Zealand’s captain Kane Williamson was awarded the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal for Player of the Year on Thursday.

    The Blackcaps held their annual New Zealand Cricket awards in the aftermath of last week’s terrorist bombings in Christchurch which resulted in the final Test against Bangladesh being cancelled.

    READ MORE: Christchurch shooting, Tigers return home

    Williamson made a splash at the ceremony as he walked away with three major honours – the Test Player of the Year award and the Redpath Cup for First-Class Batting, to go along with the coveted Sir Richard Hadlee Medal. New Zealand’s captain has had a phenomenal year across all formats, both individually and at the helm of the Kiwis.

    The top-order batsman raked up 801 Test runs at an average of 89.00 during the period as he helped raise New Zealand to No 2 on the ICC Test team rankings in the past season.

    Teenage sensation Amelia Kerr was the biggest winner on the women’s front as she bagged three accolades of her own on the night. The 18-year-old all-rounder stole the show as she picked up the Women’s ODI Player of the Year, the Phyl Blackler Cup for women’s domestic bowling, as well as the Venus Cup for Secondary Schools Female Player of the Year award.

    READ ALSO: Kiwi Kerr smashes ODI world record

    Kerr has been in fantastic form in ODIs, accumulating an impressive 415 runs at an average of 59.00 during the season. The highlight of her campaign came against Ireland in Dublin last June when she scored a record-breaking 232 not out, as well as claiming a career-best 5-17 in the same fixture.

    Full list of awards:

    Sir Richard Hadlee Medal for Player of the Year: Kane Williamson
    Test Player of the Year: Kane Williamson
    Women’s ODI Player of the Year: Amelia Kerr
    Men’s ODI Player of the Year: Ross Taylor
    Women’s T20 Player of the Year: Sophie Devine
    Men’s T20 Player of the Year: Colin Munro
    Women’s Domestic Player of the Year: Natalie Dodd
    Men’s Domestic Player of the Year: Devon Conway
    Super Smash Women’s Player of the Year: Frankie Mackay
    Super Smash Men’s Player of the Year: Tom Bruce
    The Redpath Cup for First-Class batting: Kane Williamson
    The Windsor Cup for First-Class bowling: Trent Boult
    The Phyl Blackler Cup for women’s domestic bowling: Amelia Kerr
    The Ruth Martin Cup for women’s domestic batting: Natalie Dodd
    New Zealand Umpire of the Year: Chris Brown
    Venus Cup Player of the Year: Amelia Kerr (Tawa College)

    Photo: Francois Nel/Getty Images

    Post by