• Proteas complete whitewash over Aussies

    The Proteas beat Australia by six wickets in Saturday’s third and final ODI at Senwes Park in Potchefstroom.

    The result completed a three-nil series triumph for the hosts. The last time Australia were in South Africa for a bilateral ODI series was in 2016, which also resulted in a whitewash.

    Pursuing a 255-run target, the home side moved to 258 for four to seal triumph with 27 deliveries to spare.

    READ: County contract for Malan

    Middle-order batsmen Jon-Jon Smuts, Kyle Verreynne and Heinrich Klaasen welcomed half-centuries. Fast bowler Daryn Dupavillion had earlier relished the key wicket of opener Aaron Finch on debut.

    Klaasen was named Player of the Series on the back of scores of 123 not out, 51 and this unbeaten 68.

    READ: Faf fails in Titans return

    The Proteas will depart for India after this series, despite the threat posted by the coronavirus outbreak. India and South Africa will contest three ODIs in Dharamsala, Lucknow and Kolkata. The uncapped George Linde has been named in the tourists’ squad.

    READ: Proteas to tour India despite coronavirus

    South Africa: Janneman Malan, Quinton de Kock (captain, wicketkeeper), Jon-Jon Smuts, Kyle Verreynne, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Anrich Nortje, Lutho Sipamla, Daryn Dupavillon.

    Australia: David Warner, Aaron Finch (captain), Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, D’Arcy Short, Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey (wicketkeeper), Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood.


    Photo: Gallo Images

    Post by