• Unchanged Proteas bowl first in Johannesburg

    The Proteas have named an unchanged lineup and will bowl first on day one of the second Test against Sri Lanka at the Wanderers.

    Sri Lanka captain Dimuth Karunaratne won the toss on Sunday morning and opted to bat first in Johannesburg with Asitha Fernando and Minod Bhanuka making their debuts.

    Lahiru Thirimanne and Dushmantha Chameera are also in the team after a number of injuries hit Sri Lanka in the opening Test.

    Despite the return of Kagiso Rabada and Beuran Hendricks, the Proteas will go into the match with the exact same team that beat Sri Lanka in Centurion.

    Rabada is still recovering from a groin injury with the Proteas medical staff aiming to have him fully fit for the upcoming tour of Pakistan.

    As a result, Lutho Sipamla will feature in only his second Test match with the opportunity of enforcing himself on a good bowling wicket.


    Proteas: Aiden Markram, Dean Elgar, Rassie van der Dussen, Faf du Plessis, Quinton de Kock (c) (wk), Temba Bavuma, Wiaan Mulder, Keshav Maharaj, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi, Lutho Sipamla.

    Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (C) KJ Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Minod Bhanuka, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Vishwa Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Asitha Fernando


    Post by

    Andre Huisamen