• Sri Lanka name T20I squad for SA series

    Fast bowler Suranga Lakmal and leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay have been named in Sri Lanka’s squad for this month’s T20I series against South Africa.

    Batsman Priyamal Perera, who fell for a first-ball duck in his ODI debut against the same opposition at St George’s Park in Port Elizabeth earlier this week, has also been included.

    Batsman Kusal Perera, who sustained a hamstring injury during the third ODI at Kingsmead in Durban, was not considered.

    Fielding coach Steve Rixon will act as head coach during the T20I series, which will commence after the fifth and final ODI at Newlands in Cape Town on Saturday.

    ‘Head coach Chandika Hathurusingha will return to Colombo, following the completion of the fifth ODI of the ongoing series in South Africa,’ read a statement from Sri Lanka Cricket.

    ‘He is being asked to come back in order to discuss the Sri Lanka team’s preparation plans for the upcoming World Cup.

    ‘Rixon will be the acting head coach of the national team during the T20I series in South Africa.’

    The three T20Is will be played at Newlands, SuperSport Park in Centurion and the Wanderers in Johannesburg.

    Squad: Lasith Malinga (captain) Niroshan Dickwella (vice-captain), Avishka Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Perera, Dhananjaya De Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Priyamal Perera, Thisara Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Isuru Udana, Asitha Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lakshan Sandakan.

    Photo: Gallo

    Post by