• Parsons headlines amateur CSA awards

    Cricket South Africa hosted its annual awards breakfast on Saturday, when the stars of amateur cricket were honoured for their performances over the past 12 months.

    Over 20 awards were handed out, with the big winner being South Africa U19 captain Bryce Parsons.

    The 18-year-old all-rounder was named U19 Cricketer of the Year for his efforts with the national team and also collected the Khaya Majola Cricket Week Player of the Tournament.

    Neil Brand of Northerns bagged the CSA Student Cricketer of the Year prize, while his former coach at the union, JP Triegaardt, who has left over the winter to rejoin Northern Cape, picked up the Senior Provincial Coach of the Year title.

    Northerns also swept the women’s awards with Nadine de Klerk named CSA Girls U19 Player of the Tournament for her supreme all-round efforts during the competition. Her more senior compatriot, Sune Luus, who also captained the Proteas Women in 2019, was voted CSA Women’s Provincial Cricketer of the Year.

    The CSA Three-Day Provincial Cup and Provincial One-Day Cricketers of the Year went to Glenton Stuurman of Eastern Province and Mpilo Njoloza of Western Province, respectively.

    There were joint winners in the Groundsman of the Year category for the first time, with Bethuel Buthelezi and Evan Flint securing it for their outstanding work in keeping the Wanderers Stadium in a world-class condition.

    ‘Congratulations to all our award winners. They are the individuals who keep the spirit of our amateur game so strong. And a special word of congratulations to those who have had to overcome disabilities to be honoured here. We can be very happy with the strength of our various development programmes that play a vital part in our talent identification pipeline,’ said CSA chief executive officer Thabang Moroe.

    Award Winner
    Mini Cricket Coach of the Year Marlise Lombard (Central Gauteng Lions)
    Mini Cricket Coordinator of the Year Gugulethu Ndulama (Eastern Province)
    U15 Player of the Tournament Ashley Murphy (Eastern Province)
    U17 Player of the Tournament Michael Booth (KwaZulu-Natal Inland)
    Learners with special education needs Player of the Tournament Sifiso Gumede (Central Gauteng Lions)
    Girls U19 Player of the Tournament Nadine de Klerk (Northerns)
    Khaya Majola Cricket Week Player of the Tournament Bryce Parsons (Central Gauteng Lions)
    Schools T20 Cricketer of the Year Wesley Madhivere (KwaZulu-Natal Inland)
    U19 Cricketer of the Year Bryce Parsons (Central Gauteng Lions)
    Blind Cricketer of the Year Fredrik Andreas Boer (Western Province)
    Deaf Cricketer of the Year Rual Kumalo (Western Province)
    Intellectually impaired Cricketer of the Year Bradley Manewil (South Western Districts)
    Rural Cricketer of the Year Zac Elkin (Mpumalanga)
    T20 Community Cup Player of the Year JP Kok (Delfos Cricket Club)
    National Club Championship Player of the Year Andre Malan (Durbanville Cricket Club)
    Student Cricketer of the Year Neil Brand (Northerns)
    RPC and Hubs Coach of the Year Ashley Dhelminie (Boland)
    Senior Provincial Coach of the Year JP Triegaardt (Northerns)
    Groundsman of the Year Bethuel Buthelezi and Evan Flint
    Forces Cricketer of the Year Waylain September
    Fair play award Knights
    Women’s Provincial Cricketer of the Year Sune Luus (Northerns)
    Provincial One-Day Cricketer of the Year Mpilo Njoloza (Western Province)
    Provincial Three-Day Cricketer of the Year Glenton Stuurman (Eastern Province)
    RPC Player of the Year Sisonke Sobekwa (Boland)

    Photo: Gallo Images

    Post by