• Heat replace Frylinck with Marshall

    Titans batsman Wesley Marshall will replace Rob Frylinck in the Durban Heat squad for the upcoming Mzansi Super League after the veteran seamer was selected to play in the T10 tournament in Abu Dhabi.
    Marshall shone in the recent CSA Provincial T20 Cup where he helped Easterns to their first triumph in the competition. The hard-hitting opener bashed 87 in the final and followed that up with some impressive scores in first class cricket, most recently a 98 in the second innings of the Momentum Multiply Titans’ clash with the Knights.

    Also see: Paarl Rocks name Markram replacement

    ‘When I got the call I was pretty lost for words to be honest,’ Marshall said.

    ‘During the competition talk in the change room was that if you did well and put your hand up there was always that chance that you could get that wild card position.

    ‘I did as much as I could and wasn’t picked initially but I am unbelievably excited to be involved in the MSL and want to learn as much as I can.’

    He will join a squad that includes the likes of England’s Alex Hales and Ravi Bopara, experienced South African T20 star David Miller as well as former Proteas Kyle Abbott. To have players like these around him and a coach like Gary Kirsten, Marshall believes he can only benefit.

    ‘It is unbelievable to see the players that we have and to have a coach like Gary is a dream come true,’ he added.

    ‘I cannot wait to meet up with the rest of the squad this weekend and see how we go in the competition.’

    Photo: BackPagePix

    Post by