• Finch hopes Aussies keep momentum from India win

    Australia’s ODI captain Aaron Finch is hoping his side can carry over the momentum gained from their come-from-behind series win over India to their upcoming five-match series against Pakistan.

    The Aussies arrived in the United Arab Emirates in high spirits after turning around a 2-0 deficit against India to walk away with an unexpected and hard-fought 3-2 series victory in the sub-continent (their first series win in India since 2009), much to the chagrin of the home fans.

    READ MORE: Aussies muscle India out for series win

    Finch is hoping that his team can carry over the confidence and momentum gained from their success after having lost six consecutive ODI series’ prior to their tour of India.

    ‘It is about trying to maintain our momentum that we got in India,’ said Finch. ‘I think since we played South Africa in Australia we have got better and better, I think we are starting to get a real clear strategy in a real game plan and how we want to play one-day cricket, and it is just about making sure that we continue in that way.


    ‘I think Pakistan has obviously played in these conditions for a long time,’ added Finch. ‘We cannot take them lightly in any form of the game at any time. They are a highly skilled and talented team and so we are definitely giving them as much respect as we gave India.’

    READ ALSO: Smith, Warner miss Pakistan series

    The first ODI of the five-match series will take place in Sharjah on Friday, with both teams looking to start the campaign off with a win.

    Pakistan squad
    Shoaib Malik (captain)
    Abid Ali
    Faheem Ashraf
    Haris Sohail
    Imad Wasim
    Junaid Khan
    Mohammad Abbas
    Mohammad Amir
    Mohammad Hasnain
    Mohammad Rizwan
    Saad Ali
    Shan Masood
    Umar Akmal
    Usman Shinwari
    Yasir Shah

    Australia squad
    Aaron Finch (captain)
    Usman Khawaja
    Shaun Marsh
    Peter Handscomb
    Glenn Maxwell
    Ashton Turner
    Marcus Stoinis
    Alex Carey
    Pat Cummins
    Nathan Coulter-Nile
    Jhye Richardson
    Kane Richardson
    Jason Behrendorff
    Nathan Lyon
    Adam Zampa

    Pic: Cricket Australia/Cricket Network

    Post by