• Schools T20 finals kick off in Pretoria

    The national finals of the Schools T20 Challenge got under way on Friday morning at the University of Pretoria’s LC de Villiers sports complex, writes THEO GARRUN.

    The six franchise champion schools are in action along with two CSA Focus schools, one from the inland region and one from the coastal region.

    The fixtures for the three round-robin pool games have been announced, with cross-pool playoffs taking place on Saturday afternoon and Sunday, culminating with the final at 2pm on Sunday, preceded by a game between a CSA Hubs team and the Coca-Cola All Stars team that have been selected from the losing finalists from the various franchises.

    The schools participating are:

    Pool A
    St Andrews (Knights)
    Hudson Park (Coastal Focus)
    St Stithians (Lions)
    Paarl Gim (Cobras)

    Pool B
    St Charles (Dolphins)
    St Andrews (Warriors)
    Waterkloof (Titans)
    Queens (Inland Focus)

    The fixtures are

    Friday morning 9:30am to 12:30pm
    Paarl Gim (Cobras) vs Hudson Park (Coastal Focus)
    St Charles (Dolphins) vs St Andrews (Warriors)
    St Andrews (Knights) vs St Stithians (Lions)
    Waterkloof (Titans) vs Queens (Inland Focus)

    Friday Afternoon 2pm to 5pm
    St Stithians (Lions) vs Paarl Gim (Cobras)
    St Andrews (Warriors) vs Queens (Inland Focus)
    St Andrews (Knights) vs Hudson Park (Coastal Focus)
    St Charles (Dolphins) vs Waterkloof (Titans)

    Saturday morning 9.30am to 12.30pm
    Hudson Park (Coastal Focus) vs St Stithians (Lions)
    St Charles (Dolphins) vs  Queens (Inland Focus)
    St Andrews (Knights) vs Paarl Gim (Cobras)
    Waterkloof (Titans) vs St Andrews (Warriors)

    The All Stars team
    Austin Brooker (Hoërskool Noord-Kaap)
    Naziel Adams (Hoërskool Noord-Kaap)
    Anda Dilama (SACS)
    Jedhli van Briesies (Langenhoven Gim)
    Timothy Malan (Potchefstroom Volkskool)
    Jannie Claasens (Potchefstroom Volkskool)
    Zuan Swart (Cambridge Academy)
    Walimahomed  Vuyani (Cambridge Academy)
    Francois Fourie(Westville)
    Wynand Steyberg (Westville)
    Afikile Mahlungu (Old Bunting Secondary)
    Lukho Nomphandana (Old Bunting Secondary)

    Post by

    Theo Garrun