• 2023 IPL franchises – What you need to know

    The captains and top players for the 10 franchises in this year’s IPL, as well as the participating South Africans.

    Mumbai Indians

    Captain: Rohit Sharma.

    Top foreign players: Cameron Green (Australia all-rounder), Tim David (Singapore-born Australian batsman), Jofra Archer (England fast bowler).

    Key Indian players: Ishan Kishan (opening batsman) and Suryakumar Yadav, the world’s top-ranked T20 batter famed for his all-round hitting and unconventional strokeplay.

    Fast facts: The five-times champions brought Green for $2.11-million after an intense bidding war in the auction. Mumbai will be coached by former Proteas coach Mark Boucher.

    Best IPL performances: Champions five times (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020), runners-up once (2010).

    PREVIEW: IPL returns as Mumbai Indians eye sixth title

    Chennai Super Kings

    Captain: MS Dhoni.

    Top foreign players: Moeen Ali (England all-rounder), Devon Conway (New Zealand batsman), Ben Stokes (England all-rounder).

    Fast fact: England Test captain Stokes, an IPL regular and hot property, was bought by Chennai for $1.96-million in the December auction but will only play as a batsman.

    Key Indian players: Ravindra Jadeja (bowling all-rounder), Ruturaj Gaikwad (batsman).

    Best IPL performances: Champions four times, (2010, 2011, 2018, 2021), runners-up six times (2008, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2019, 2022).

    Delhi Capitals

    Captain: David Warner.

    Top foreign players: Anrich Nortje (Proteas fast bowler), Mitchell Marsh (Australia all-rounder).

    Anrich Nortje Delhi Capitals BCCI
    Anrich Nortje takes a wicket

    Fast fact: Warner was named captain in place of the injured Rishabh Pant after a car crash that has kept the dangerous big-hitter out of action since December.

    Key Indian players: Kuldeep Yadav (left-arm wrist spinner) and Axar Patel (bowling all-rounder), who comes into the IPL in red-hot form with his destructive lower-order batting and left-arm spin.

    Best IPL performances: Runners-up (2020).

    Lucknow Super Giants

    Captain: KL Rahul.

    Top foreign players: Quinton de Kock (Proteas wicketkeeper-batsman), Marcus Stoinis (Australia all-rounder), Nicholas Pooran (West Indies all-rounder).

    Quinton de Kock Lucknow IPL 10 April 2022
    Quinton de Kock

    Fast fact: The franchise shelled out $1.95-million for Pooran, a finisher who doubles up as a wicketkeeper option.

    Key Indian players: Avesh Khan (bowler) and Jaydev Unadkat (fast bowler).

    Best IPL performances: Finished third in their IPL debut last year.

    Gujarat Titans

    Captain: Hardik Pandya.

    Top foreign players: David Miller (Proteas batsman), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan leg-spinner), Kane Williamson (New Zealand batsman).

    Fast fact: Williamson joins West Indies fast bowler Odean Smith and Ireland quick Josh Little as the three new overseas recruits this season.

    Key Indian players: Shubman Gill (batsman), Mohammed Shami (fast bowler).

    Best IPL performances: Champions on debut (2022).

    Punjab Kings

    Captain: Shikhar Dhawan.

    Top foreign players: Liam Livingstone (England batsman), Kagiso Rabada (Proteas fast bowler), Sam Curran (England all-rounder).

    Fast fact: Curran, Player of the Tournament in the T20 World Cup with his death bowling skills, became the most expensive IPL player ever when Punjab paid $2.23-million.

    Key Indian players: Shahrukh Khan – a hard-hitting batsman.

    Best IPL performances: Runners-up when known as the Kings XI Punjab (2014).

    ALSO: Five players to watch in 2023 IPL

    Rajasthan Royals

    Captain: Sanju Samson.

    Top foreign players: Jos Buttler (England wicketkeeper-batsman), Trent Boult (New Zealand fast bowler), Shimron Hetmyer (West Indies batsman).

    Fast fact: The Royals bought big-hitting South African Donovan Ferreira for $60,000.

    Key Indian players: Yuzvendra Chahal (leg-spinner) and Ravichandran Ashwin (off-spinner).

    Best IPL performances: Champions in the inaugural edition in 2008 under late Australian great Shane Warne.

    Kolkata Knight Riders

    Captain: Nitish Rana.

    Top foreign players: Andre Russell (West Indies all-rounder), Sunil Narine (West Indies all-rounder), Tim Southee (New Zealand fast bowler).

    Fast fact: Rana is standing in as skipper for the injured Shreyas Iyer.

    Key Indian players: Venkatesh Iyer (all-rounder), Varun Chakravarthy (leg-spinner).

    Best IPL performances: Champions twice (2012, 2014), runners-up once (2021).

    Sunrisers Hyderabad

    Captain: Aiden Markram.

    Aiden Markram SEC captain 2023
    Aiden Markram

    Top foreign players: Marco Jansen (Proteas bowling all-rounder), Heinrich Klaasen (South Africa batsman), Harry Brook (England batsman).

    Fast fact: West Indies great and Sunrisers head coach Brian Lara called Brook “young and exciting” after the 24-year-old was signed by the team for $1.6 million.

    Key Indian players: Bhuvneshwar Kumar (seam bowler), Washington Sundar (spin bowler), Umran Malik (fast bowler).

    Best IPL performances: Champions (2016).

    Royal Challengers Bangalore

    Captain: Faf du Plessis.

    Faf du Plessis smiles RCB IPL
    Faf du Plessis

    Top foreign players: Glenn Maxwell (Australia all-rounder), Reece Topley (England left-arm quick), Josh Hazlewood (Australia fast bowler).

    Key Indian players: Virat Kohli (batsman), Mohammed Siraj (fast bowler), Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper-batsman).

    Fast fact: Hazlewood is doubtful due to an Achilles injury.

    Best IPL performances: Runners-up three times (2009, 2011, 2016).

    South Africans in 2023 IPL

    South Africans sold at auction:

    Heinrich Klaasen – Sunrisers Hyderabad (INR 5.25 crore, $640,000)
    Rilee Rossouw – Delhi Capitals INR 4.6 crore ($560,000)
    David Wiese – Kolkata Knight Riders INR 1 crore ($121,000)
    Donovan Ferreira – Rajasthan Royals (INR 50 lakh, $60,000)
    Duan Jansen – Mumbai Indians (INR 20 lakh, $24,000)
    Sisanda Magala* – Chennai Super Kings (INR 50 lakh, $60,000)
    *Injury replacement

    Heinrich Klaasen DSG SA20 15 Jan 2023
    Heinrich Klaasen

    South Africans retained by franchises:

    Delhi Capitals: Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi
    Mumbai Indians: Dewald Brevis, Tristan Stubbs
    Royal Challengers Bangalore: Faf du Plessis
    Chennai Super Kings: Dwaine Pretorius
    Lucknow Super Giants: Quinton de Kock
    Gujarat Titans: David Miller
    Punjab Kings: Kagiso Rabada
    Sunrisers Hyderabad: Marco Jansen, Aiden Markram

    © Agence France-Presse & SACricketmag.com

    Post by

    Simon Borchardt