• Williams wins big at Titans awards function

    Lizaad Williams was the big winner at the Titans annual awards, scooping four gongs, including the prestigious Titans Player of the Year award. 

    It was the Titans‘ final Player of the Year awards of the franchise era, an event which was held virtually, due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic. 

    The major winner of the evening was Williams, whose startling debut season across all formats culminated with a call-up to the national team.

    ‘This is all very humbling. I was thrilled to become a Titans player, but I never expected to make such an impact and settle so well with my teammates this season,’ Williams exclaimed.

    ‘When I joined the Titans, I knew there would be huge competition for places. But it has been a brotherhood, and I couldn’t have had the success I had this season without my bowling partners at the other end. Credit, too, to the coaches and management for all their patience this season,’ Williams added. 

    During the evening, the Titans also reflected on the extraordinary journey that they enjoyed during the franchise era. 

    ‘It has been an incredible passage of progress and success, and it was nice to reflect on so many great memories that we enjoyed as a franchise. Of course, the Titans brand continues, and we look forward to adding new chapters to this great Sky Blues story,’ Titans CEO Dr Jacques Faul said. 

    On an emotional evening, the Titans also bid one of their favourite sons, the retiring Henry Davids, a fond farwell as well as remembering the late Andrew O’Connor, who served the game with distinction and dedication. 

    ‘We would have loved to have all been in the same room, and give a proper ovation to our great friend and mentor Andrew, as well as a proper thanks to Henry, who has been a wonderful example to every Titans player,’ Northerns Cricket Union president Tebogo Siko noted.

    ‘We are grateful to have got through a season in these trying times, and we are proud of every player who has taken the field for the franchise. A special congratulations for Lizaad Williams and his exceptional achievements in his very first season here,’ the president added. 


    Full list of Titans awards winners:   

    • Newcomer of the year – Lizaad Williams 
    • T20 Player of the Year – Lungi Ngidi 
    • First Class Player of the Year – Aiden Markram 
    • Henry Davids Farewell 
    • Players’ Player of the Year – Lizaad Williams 
    • Fans Player of the Year – Aiden Markram 
    • Most Valuable Player – Lizaad Williams 
    • Player of the Year – Lizaad Williams

    Post by

    Craig Lewis