• SL Women field first as Tunnicliffe makes ODI debut

    Proteas Women’s wicketkeeper-batter Faye Tunnicliffe will make her ODI debut during the first fixture of the three-match series against Sri Lanka Women at Senwes Park on Monday.

    The Islanders won the toss and elected to field first in a rain-delayed encounter that has been reduced to 48-overs a side due to morning showers in Potchefstroom.

    READ MORE: Tunnicliffe chuffed with keeping challenge

    Sune Luus and Nadine de Klerk will be missing for South Africa in today’s clash as veteran batter Mignon du Preez makes a return to the starting XI after being sidelined for the last two matches of the T20I series.

    Start of play has been moved to 11am (SAST), and entrance to Senwes Park is free. Regular updates will also be available through Cricket South Africa’s platforms on Facebook and Twitter.

    SA ODI squad

    Dané van Niekerk (captain, Eastern Province)
    Laura Wolvaardt (Western Province)
    Mignon du Preez (Northerns)
    Lara Goodall (Western Province)
    Shabnim Ismail (Gauteng)
    Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province)
    Saarah Smith (Western Province)
    Tumi Sekhukhune (North West)
    Zintle Mali (Border)
    Suné Luus (Northerns)
    Nadine de Klerk (Northerns)
    Faye Tunnicliffe (wicketkeeper, Boland)
    Masabata Klaas (North West)
    Andrie Steyn (Western Province)

    SA vs SL match schedule

    11 Feb – 1st Women’s ODI (Senwes Park, Potchefstroom)

    14 Feb – 2nd Women’s ODI (Senwes Park, Potchefstroom)

    17 Feb – 3rd Women’s ODI (Senwes Park, Potchefstroom)


    Photo: Lee Warren/Gallo Images

    Post by