• SA U19s get new captain

    CSA on Thursday announced the 15-man South Africa U19 squad that will tour England from 24 July to 23 August. The team will be led by KwaZulu-Natal batsman Sibonelo Makhanya.

    The team announcement comes off the back of a four-day national camp at the Centre of Excellence, where 25 of the country’s most exciting U19 players were put through their paces for a spot in the touring squad.

    The two-match Test series and five-match ODI series will be the team’s first tour under new coach Lawrence Mahatlane’s leadership. He is satisfied that the best players were picked for this tour.

    ‘I’m really happy with the team that has been selected,’ he said. ‘It is an exciting mixture of players with a lot of all-rounders coming through, which is always good. The camp was a huge success and I’m happy to see the guys taking on their learnings so quickly. This tour to England will be a good opportunity for us to measure ourselves against one of the top teams in the world and begin that long trek to defending the World Cup title.’

    Makhanya will take the reins after a successful ICC U19 World Cup campaign, of which he was a part. Only he and Andile Phehlukwayo are the remaining players of that squad. He is excited and honoured to have been selected.

    ‘This is a dream come true,’ Makhanya said. ‘Every young boy dreams of representing the green and gold and to be asked to captain the squad too means so much more to me. I’m grateful for the opportunity to prove myself and excited to lead the team going to England. We have a really good group of guys going and they are all eager to give their best. I will definitely give this job my very best and look forward to flying the South African flag high.’

    The team leave for England on Wednesday, 23 July from Johannesburg.

    SA U19 Squad:
    Sibonelo Makhanya (c, KZN), Marques Ackerman (Gauteng), Aiden Brooker (Griquas), Matthew Christensen (Western Province), Keith Dudgeon (Gauteng), Brandon Glover (Gauteng), Stefan Klopper (Northerns), Janneman Malan (Northerns), Ndumiso Mvelase (Gauteng), Hanco Olivier (North West), Andile Phehlukwayo (KZN), Ryan Rickleton (Gauteng), Grant Roelofsen (Gauteng), Kabelo Sekhukhune (Easterns), Lwandiswa Zuma (KZN Inland).

    Lawrence Mahatlane (Head Coach), Victor Mpitsang (Assistant Coach), Jono Leafwright (Assistant Coach), Niels Momberg (Manager), Kyle Southgate (Video Analyst), Brett Edwards (Physiotherapist).

    Photo: Ryan Wilkisky/Backpagepix

    Post by