• Dane out injured, Proteas Women sent in to bat

    Match-winning Proteas Women skipper Dane van Niekerk will miss the rest of the Sri Lanka tour through injury, with Sune Luus replacing her for the second ODI against Sri Lanka at Potchefstroom.

    Sri Lanka Women’s captain Chamari Attapaththu won the toss and sent the Proteas Women into bat first in the second women’s ODI. South Africa lead the three-match series 1-0 and will be eager to secure the series with a win on Thursday to push themselves up the women’s world rankings.

    Sune Luus will make her first appearance in the series, replacing captain Dane van Niekerk, who has been ruled out of the remainder of the Sri Lanka tour due to a stress fracture of the right femur. The expected recovery time for such an injury is approximately three months.

    Luus has been named as the interim captain for the series, while vice-captain Chloe Tryon is still recovering from a groin injury. The other change for today’s match sees Zintle Mali being replaced by Nadine de Klerk.

    South Africa Women
    Suné Luus (captain, Northerns)
    Laura Wolvaardt (Western Province)
    Mignon du Preez (Northerns)
    Lara Goodall (Western Province)
    Shabnim Ismail (Gauteng)
    Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province)
    Tumi Sekhukhune (North West)
    Faye Tunnicliffe (wicketkeeper, Boland)
    Masabata Klaas (North West)
    Andrie Steyn (Western Province)
    Nadine de Klerk (Northerns)

    Sri Lanka Women
    MAA Sanjeewani
    PM Weerakkody (wicketkeeper)
    WK Dilhari
    AC Jayangani (captain)
    H Madavi
    NND de Silva
    WGAKK Kulasuriya
    KDU Prabodhani
    OU Ranasinghe
    I Ranaweera
    HASD Siriwardene


    Photo: Getty Images

    Post by

    Simon Lewis