• Proteas bat first

    AB de Villiers has won the toss and decided to bat in the Pool B match against Ireland in Canberra.

    Conditions at the Manuka Oval are cloudy and cool, but still very good for batting. A number of South African batsmen are starting to find form and they will be expected to post a big total.

    The Proteas have stuck to the same combination that hammered the West Indies. JP Duminy and Vernon Philander are unavailable due to injuries.

    Ireland have made one change to the team that recently beat the UAE. Spinner Andy McBrien comes in for the seamer Alex Cusack.

    South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wk), Faf du Plessis, Rilee Rossouw, AB de Villiers (c), David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Dale Steyn, Kyle Abbott, Morné Morkel, Imran Tahir

    Ireland: Will Porterfield (c), Paul Stirling, Ed Joyce, Niall O’Brien, Andy Balbine, Gary Wilson (wk), Kevin O’Brien, John Mooney, Max Sorensen Andy McBrien, George Dockrell