• Proteas back in training

    Cricket South Africa has confirmed that the men’s high-performance training squad returned to full training on Monday following the Department of Sports approval last week.

    All players will assemble in small monitored groups at the nearest local franchise where they will adhere to strict health and safety protocols set out by the CSA Covid-19 steering committee.

    It’s the first time since the Proteas returned from their cancelled tour of India back in early March that the players have been allowed any form of group training.

    CSA chief medical officer Dr Shuaib Manjra said the governing body is committed to follow the guidelines laid out by the authorities to ensure a safe return to action, following the confirmation last week that seven Covid-19 tests from within the CSA administration and player groups returned positive with one being a current player for the national team.

    CSA announces 7 Covid-19 cases

    ‘We engaged with the NICD who were comfortable with our protocols and responses to their queries for further details in some respects,’ said Dr Manjra.

    ‘Our prevention programme, besides the regular testing of players and support staff, is predicated on personal hygiene measures and creating a sanitised ecosystem. Covid-19 compliance managers at each venue have assumed responsibility to ensure all the elements of the protocol are implemented.’

    CSA high-performance training squad:

    Quinton de Kock (Momentum Multiply Titans), Dean Elgar (Momentum Multiply Titans), Lungi Ngidi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Aiden Markram (Momentum Multiply Titans), Junior Dala (Momentum Multiply Titans), Theunis de Bruyn (Momentum Multiply Titans), Rassie van der Dussen (Imperial Lions), Shaun von Berg (Momentum Multiply Titans), Dwaine Pretorius (Imperial Lions), Henrich Klaasen (Momentum Multiply Titans), Temba Bavuma (Imperial Lions), Reeza Hendricks (Imperial Lions), Kagiso Rabada (Imperial Lions), Tabraiz Shamsi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Wiaan Mulder (Imperial Lions), Bjorn Fortuin (Imperial Lions), Andile Phehlukwayo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), David Miller (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Sarel Erwee (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Khaya Zondo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Daryn Dupavillon (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Senuran Muthusamy(Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Keagan Petersen (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Imran Tahir (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Lutho Sipamla (Imperial Lions), Edward Moore (Warriors), Anrich Nortje (Warriors), Sisanda Magala (Warriors), Glenton Stuurman (Warriors), Jon-Jon Smuts (Warriors), Rudi Second (Warriors), Pite van Biljon (VKB Knights), Raynaard van Tonder (VKB Knights), Gerald Coetzee (VKB Knights), Pieter Malan (Cape Cobras), Zubayr Hamza (Cape Cobras), Janneman Malan (Cape Cobras), Faf du Plessis (Momentum Multiply Titans), Tony de Zorzi (Cape Cobras), Beuran Hendricks (Imperial Lions), Nandre Burger (Cape Cobras), George Linde (Cape Cobras), Kyle Verreynne (Cape Cobras).


    Post by