• Ngidi returns as Proteas bat first

    England captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and opted to bowl first in Sunday’s third and final ODI against the Proteas at the Wanderers in Johannesburg.

    The home side returned fast bowler Lungi Ngidi to the XI at the expense of spinner Bjorn Fortuin.

    The tourists named ODI debutant fast bowler Saqib Mahmood, leg-spinner Adil Rashid and all-rounder Moeen Ali in the XI.

    The hosts boast an unassailable lead in the three-match series. They won the first ODI at Newlands in Cape Town on the back of captain Quinton de Kock’s century before the second was washed out at Kingsmead in Durban.

    ALSO READ: CSA and SACA agree on restructuring process

    South Africa and England will contest three T20Is later this month.

    The Proteas and English have contested 62 ODIs since the first in 1992. The former have won 30 and the latter 27, with one tie and four no-results.

    England have not won a bilateral ODI series in South Africa since 2009. They have won two ODIs in five attempts at the Wanderers.

    South Africa have won eight of the last 10 ODIs played at the Wanderers.

    South Africa: Quinton de Kock (captain, wicketkeeper), Reeza Hendricks, Temba Bavuma, Rassie van der Dussen, Jon-Jon Smuts, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Beuran Hendricks, Lutho Sipamla, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi.

    England:  Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow (wicketkeeper), Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (captain), Joe Denly, Tom Banton, Moeen Ali, Tom Curran, Adil Rashid, Chris Jordan, Saqib Mahmood.


    Photo: Gallo Images

    Post by