• Ngidi, Nortje in Proteas ODI squad

    South Africa have recalled the services of Titans’ Lungi Ngidi and named the exciting Warriors speedster Anrich Nortje as part of the ODI squad to face Sri Lanka in a five-match series on home soil.

    The two fast bowlers both suffered through lengthy injury lay-offs at the back-end of 2018, but made their return to the domestic cricket scene to feature for their respective franchises in the ongoing One-Day Cup competition. Lions all-rounder Wiaan Mulder is retained in the squad after joining the Proteas for the final ODI against Pakistan in January – he, too, having just returned from the sidelines due to injury.

    READ MORE: I’m back now – Ngidi

    ‘It is great to have Lungi back in the squad after a lengthy period on the sidelines caused by the injury he suffered in the white-ball series in Australia last year,’ commented Linda Zondi, CSA’s national convener of selectors.

    ‘His recent form for the Titans in the One-Day Cup has been most impressive and he is clearly match fit for international cricket again.

    ‘Anrich has also come back well from injury and we want to see what he can offer the Proteas after his highly impressive form in the Mzansi Super League. Outright pace is not something that you can coach, and he looks another exciting addition to our pace arsenal.

    ‘Those players who were in the squad against Pakistan, but who have been left out this time have not been dropped. We need to use the first part of this series to examine all the options that are available to us.

    ‘We know, for example, what Hashim Amla has to offer us and he remains a senior member of our squad.

    ‘We are also hopeful that the last remaining Protea on the injury list, JP Duminy, will be available for the last two matches against Sri Lanka.’

    READ ALSO: Anrich Nortje’s extreme speed ‘excites me’ – Steyn

    Proteas ODI squad:

    Faf du Plessis (captain)

    Quinton de Kock

    Reeza Hendricks

    Imran Tahir

    David Miller

    Wiaan Mulder

    Lungi Ngidi

    Anrich Nortje

    Andile Phehlukwayo

    Dwaine Pretorius

    Kagiso Rabada

    Tabraiz Shamsi

    Dale Steyn

    Rassie van der Dussen

    Photo: Sameera Peiris/Gallo Images