• Morris, Dala, Roy to play for NMB Giants

    England batsman Jason Roy will play for the Nelson Mandela Giants in the Mzansi Super League. Roy was announced as the Giants’ international marquee player at Wednesday’s draft.

    Wicketkeeper-batsman Rudi Second, spinners Dyllan Matthews and Aaron Phangiso, fast bowlers Carmi le Roux, Lizaad Williams, Sisanda Magala and Junior Dala, all-rounders Ryan McLaren and Chris Morris and batsmen Marco Marais, Heino Kuhn, Christiaan Jonker and Jon-Jon Smuts will also play for the Giants. England batsman Ben Duckett, too, joined.

    Leg-spinner Imran Tahir is the Giants’ marquee Proteas player. Former Proteas seamer Eric Simons is their coach.

    The inaugural Twenty20 tournament will feature six teams and span 32 matches, from 16 November to 16 December 2018. The Giants’ home matches will be played at St George’s Park in Port Elizabeth.

    Full squad: Imran Tahir, Jason Roy (England), Chris Morris, Jon-Jon Smuts, Junior Dala, Christiaan Jonker, Aaron Phangiso, Ben Duckett (England), Sisanda Magala, Ryan McLaren, Heino Kuhn, Marco Marais, Dyllan Matthews (rookie), Lizaad Williams, Rudi Second, Carmi le Roux.

    Post by

    Jonhenry Wilson