• Tshwane Spartans sign Mendis, Morgan

    England batsman Eoin Morgan will play for the Tshwane Spartans in the Mzansi Super League. Morgan was announced as the Spartans’ international marquee player at Wednesday’s draft.

    Batsmen Dean Elgar, Tony de Zorzi, Gihahn Cloete and Theunis de Bruyn, Sri Lanka leg-spinner Jeevan Mendis, all-rounders Shaun von Berg, Rory Kleinveldt and Robbie Frylinck, seamers Eldred Hawken, Andrew Birch and Lutho Simpala and fast bowler Lungi Ngidi will also play for the Spartans. Zimbabwe all-rounders Sean Williams and Sikandar Raza, too, joined the Tshwane team.

    Former national captain AB de Villiers, who retired from international cricket earlier this year, is the Spartans’ marquee Proteas player.

    The inaugural Twenty20 tournament will feature six teams and span 32 matches, from 16 November to 16 December 2018. The Spartans’ home matches will be played at SuperSport Park in Centurion.

    Full squad: AB de Villiers, Eoin Morgan (England), Lungi Ngidi, Robbie Frylinck, Jeewan Mendis (Sri Lanka), Theunis de Bruyn, Rory Kleinveldt, Sean Williams (Zimbabwe), Gihahn Cloete, Lutho Sipamla (rookie), Tony de Zorzi (rookie), Dean Elgar, Andrew Birch, Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe), Shaun von Berg, Eldred Hawken.

    Post by

    Jonhenry Wilson