• Markram U19 Player of the Year

    Aiden Markram was named the CSA U19 Cricketer of the Year at the sixth annual CSA Breakfast Awards.

    The ceremony, where the stars of amateur cricket are honoured, was held at the Killarney Country Club in Johannesburg.

    Markram captained the SA U19 side to the title at the ICC U19 World Cup earlier this year, and scored 370 runs at an average of 123, the best in the tournament. The opening batsman scored two centuries, 120 not out and 105, against Zimbabwe and Afghanistan respectively. He also scored 66 in the final against Pakistan.

    The youngster continued his good form when he returned home, playing an instrumental role in Tuks’ third consecutive National Club Championships title victory.  He received the Player of the Tournament award there as well.

    ‘I’m actually quite shocked at these awards,’ Markram said. ‘I never dreamed that this past year would work out this way. I’m so happy to have been able to give our country something to be proud of. There is no way I would have been able to accomplish anything without my teammates, coaches and parents. I want to thank them for everything they have done for me. I only hope that I can continue to do good things for the country.’

    A host of other awards were handed out this morning:

    CSA U15 Player of the Tournament: Dean Foxcroft
    CSA U17 Player of the Tournament: Andile Phehlukwayo
    CSA Girls’ U19 Player of the Tournament: Suné Luus
    Khaya Majola U19 Player of the Tournament: Clyde Fortuin
    CSA U19 Cricketer of the Year: Aiden Markram
    CSA Student Cricketer of the Year: Heinrich Klaasen
    National Club Championships Player of the Tournament: Aiden Markram
    Franchise Semi-Professional Coach of the Year: Monty Jacobs
    CSA Rural Cricketer of the Year: Ferisco Adams
    CSA Blind Cricketer of the Year: Desigan Pillay
    CSA Deaf Cricketer of the Year: Reinhardt Limbacht
    CSA Intellectually Impaired Cricketer of the Year: Papama Mtana
    CSA Provincial Three-Day Cricketer of the Year: Keegan Petersen
    CSA Provincial One-Day Cricketer of the Year: Devon Conway
    CSA Provincial T20 Cricketer of the Year: Ross McMillan
    KFC Mini-Cricket Coach of the Year: Nokuzola Javu

    Post by