• India fight back in final ODI

    Hardik Pandya struck an unbeaten 92 as India claimed a consolation 13-run victory over Australia in the final ODI on Wednesday.

    India opened the batting for the first time in the series and piled on the runs in Canberra, with captain Virat Kohli (63) and Ravi Jadeja (66) complementing the brilliant knock of Pandya as the visitors posted 302-5 in their 50 overs.

    The Australians were without David Warner for the encounter, which led to Marnus Labuschagne promoted to opening the batting alongside Aaron Finch.

    READ: Proteas’ ODI record against England

    Despite a half-century by the captain, the hosts fell to 158-5 with Labuschagne and the dangerous Steve Smith both departing for only seven.

    But, a 38-ball 59 by the big-hitting Glen Maxwell kept Australia in the contest with Ashton Agar also contributing 28 in the latter stages of the innings.

    Shardul Thakur, though, took 3-51 in his ten overs, while Jasprit Bumrah and T Natarajan picked up two wickets each as India dismissed Australia for 289 in the final over of the match.

    Australia still won the series 2-1 thanks to big victories in the opening two encounters.

    The two nations will now lock horns in a three-match T20I series, which gets under way on Friday.


    Post by

    Andre Huisamen