• Duminy, Phangiso to attend spin camp

    Proteas players JP Duminy, Temba Bavuma, Reeza Hendricks and Aaron Phangiso will all be attending¬†the spin bowling camp held at the HPC in Pretoria next week as preparation for South Africa’s tour of Bangladesh in July.

    The camp is labelled a ‘specialist spin camp’, but batsmen from the different franchises will also be there, to work with HD Ackerman and Neil Johnson.

    Former South African spinners Nicky Boje and Paul Adams will take charge of the spinners.

    Cape Cobras’ offbreak bowler Dane Piedt, who missed out on selection for the Proteas’ Bangladesh tour but will travel with the SA A side to India, is among those invited to the camp. Simon Harmer’s name, the other spinner in the South African Test squad, is not on the list.

    ‘This annual camp has particular significance this year,’ said Vinnie Barnes, CSA High Performance Manager.

    ‘If one looks at our international fixture list for the second half of the year, we have the Proteas playing away Test Series in both Bangladesh and India while South Africa A will be playing both four-day unofficial Tests and a triangular one-day series in India.

    ‘Spin bowling obviously plays an important part on the sub-continent, so it is important that we prepare players properly, particularly those who have little or no experience of playing in that part of the world.¬†The camp will also be attended by some of our less-experienced batsmen, who will be representing these various squads. Some of our Proteas batsmen have also asked to attend in preparation for the tour of Bangladesh.

    ‘Our under-19 squad struggled during their recent tour to Bangladesh, where they will be defending their ICC World title next year, so we are also involving players at this level.’

    Spin bowlers: Aaron Phangiso (Highveld Lions), Ruben Klaasen (Northerns), Bjorn Fortuin (Gauteng), Tshepo Ntuli (Free State), Dane Piedt (Cape Cobras), George Linde (Cape Cobras), Shaun von Berg (Titans), Sean Whitehead (Free State/SA U-19), Ndudoza Mfoza (KZN Coastal/SA U-19), Tshepiso Ndwandwa (CSA Fort Hare Academy), Lizo Makhoso (EP Academy)
    Batsmen: Temba Bavuma (Highveld Lions), Rudi Second (Knights), Theunis de Bruyn (Titans), Omphile Ramela (Cape Cobras), Gihahn Cloete (Knights), JP Duminy (Cape Cobras), Reeza Hendricks (Knights), Rivaldo Moonsamy (Northerns/SA U-19), Dean Foxcroft (Northerns/SA U-19), Wiaan Mulder (Gauteng/SA U-19), Dayyaan Galiem (WP/SA U-19).