• De Kock, not Faf, will captain T20I team

    Wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock has been named captain of the Proteas squad for September’s three T20Is against India.

    Regular T20I captain Faf du Plessis has been excluded from the 14-man squad, but will play in the subsequent Test series against the same opposition.

    The uncapped Bjorn Fortuin, Anrich Nortje and Temba Bavuma have been included. Lions spinner Fortuin has not played international cricket, while fast bowler Nortje and batsman Bavuma have been capped at ODI level. Bavuma has also played Test cricket.

    ‘I would like to stress that Faf remains an important part of our plans for white-ball cricket,’ said Cricket South Africa acting director of cricket Corrie van Zyl.

    ‘As far as the T20 squad is concerned, Temba and Bjorn were two of the standout players in the CSA T20 Challenge last season, while Nortje was outstanding in the Mzansi Super League until ruled out by injury.

    ‘This is very much a form squad with players being rewarded for their consistent performances at franchise level. This applies equally to Junior Dala and Jon-Jon Smuts.’

    Lions head coach Enoch Nkwe was named interim team director for this tour earlier this month. Former Proteas head coach Ottis Gibson’s tenure has not been extended.

    Squad: Quinton de Kock (captain), Rassie van der Dussen (vice-captain), Temba Bavuma, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts.

    Photo: Gallo Images

    Post by