• CSA provincial T20 knockout competition pools confirmed

    Cricket South Africa (CSA) has confirmed the pools for the inaugural CSA provincial T20 competition following a virtual draw.

    Across Division 1 and 2, 15 teams along with the SA U19s were drawn into four pools of four each for the season-opening competition, which will be held in Kimberley and Bloemfontein from 24 September to 22 October.

    Co-hosts the Northern Cape Heat and Knights were pre-determined to Pool A and B, respectively, before the draw as well as the SA U19s to Pool C due to the availability of the U19 players.

    SWD, Lions and Western Province will join Northern Cape in Pool A, while the Knights are set to take on the Mpumalanga Rhinos, Tuskers and Titans in Pool B.

    The SA U19s will be up against Eastern Storm, North West Dragons and the Dolphins in Pool C. Eastern Cape linyathi, Limpopo Impalas, Warriors and Boland’s The Rocks complete Pool D.

    Each team will play three matches within their pool, with the top-two teams in each pool qualifying for the finals leg of the competition. The fixtures will be announced at a later stage.

    Director of cricket Graeme Smith said: “I am sure we are all looking forward to getting our domestic professional cricket up and running again. It is indeed the beginning of a new era which will give players the opportunity to compete at the highest level of domestic cricket. The inclusion of our national U19 squad in this tournament provides a great opportunity for them to compete against strong opposition as they prepare for next year’s ICC U19 Men’s World Cup in the West Indies.”

    The T20 Knockout Competition is one of two T20 tournaments that will feature as part the 2021-22 domestic season, with a premium T20 competition scheduled for later in the season.

    Full list of Pools:

    Pool A

    Date: 24-26 September

    Venue: Kimberley

    Teams: Northern Cape Heat (2*), SWD (2), Lions (1), Western Province (1)

    Pool B

    Date: 28-30 September

    Venue: Bloemfontein

    Teams: Mpumalanga Rhinos (2), Tuskers (2), Knights (1), Titans (1)

    Pool C

    Date: 8-10 October

    Venue: Bloemfontein

    Teams: Eastern Storm (2), SA U19s, North West Dragons (1), Dolphins (1)

    Pool D

    Date: 4-6 October

    Venue: Kimberley

    Teams: Eastern Cape Iinyathi (2), Limpopo Impalas (2), Warriors (1), The Rocks (1)

    Denotes specific division

    Post by

    Craig Lewis