• CSA pick women’s squad

    Cricket South Africa (CSA) has announced the 15-woman Momentum Proteas squad that will tour against Pakistan in Abu Dhabi.

    The side will travel to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) from 10-23 March for a three-match, One-Day International (ODI) and Twenty20 (T20) series. It will be their first tour since facing India in India in November of last year.

    The tour sees the return of Masabata Klaas to international cricket, after she took an extended break from the game for personal reasons. The 24-year old right-hand seamer is excited to be given the opportunity to don the green and gold again.

    ‘There was a time when I thought I would never be able to come back to the team again,” she commented. “I am so happy and grateful to be given another opportunity. This is every cricketer’s dream come true and I can’t wait to represent my country again.’

    South Africa emerged victorious in their previous ODI triangular series involving Pakistan and Ireland in the UAE in January 2014 and went on to beat them again in the ICC Women’s World T20 a few months later.

    Coach, Hilton Moreeng is satisfied with the selected squad.

    ‘It’s good to be back in action after the long break. The team are rearing to go and look forward to another successful series against Pakistan.

    ‘It’s good to have Masabata (Klaas) back in the team, we have been looking at her progress for a while and we are satisfied that she is ready to take on international cricket once more.’

    The team depart on Emirates flight EK 766 to Dubai on 9 March at 22:20.

    Mignon du Preez (capt, Northerns), Trisha Chetty (vice capt, KZN Coastal), Lizelle Lee (North West), Nadine Moodley (KZN Coastal), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Dané van Niekerk (Eastern Province), Shabnim Ismail (Western Province), Suné Luus (Northerns), Matshipi Marcia Letsoalo (Northerns), Ayabonga Kakha (Border), Yolanie Fourie (Gauteng), Moseline Daniels (Western Province), Masabata Klaas (Free State), Bernadine Bezuidenhoudt (Western Province).