• CSA announce academy intake

    Cricket South Africa have named the intake for the Women’s National Academy, which will run from 2 June to 2 August 2019 in Pretoria.

    Quartet Tumi Sekhukhune, Robyn Searle, Faye Tunnicliffe and Saarah Smith debuted during September 2018’s tour of the West Indies – and have been named in the academy collective.

    South Africa women’s emerging team, which was selected from the 2018 academy intake, played a tri-series against England Women’s Academy and the Australia Shooting Stars.

    ‘The Women’s National Academy programme forms a very strategic part of our developmental pipeline, and has as its aim to prepare young players for the demands of professional cricket,’ said CSA high performance manager Vincent Barnes.

    ‘These selected players are carefully identified from our provincial system. Last year’s National Academy produced some exciting cricketers. Tumi Sekhukhune, Lara Goodall, Faye Tunnicliffe, Robyn Searle, Saarah Smith and Zintle Mali, who were part of the class of 2018, have all graduated to the Proteas Women’s team.’

    Women’s National Academy intake for 2019: Tazmin Brits (North West), Faye Tunnicliffe (Boland), Lara Goodall (Western Province), Saarah Smith (Western Province), Robyn Searle (Gauteng), Tumi Sekhukhune (North West), Zintle Mali (Border), Nonkululeko Thabethe (Gauteng), Jade de Figuerido (KZN Coastal), Nadia Mbokotwana (Western Province), Nondumiso Shangase (KZN Coastal), Gandi Jafta (Northerns), Evodia Yekile (North West), Nadine de Klerk (Northerns).

    Photo: Gallo

    Post by