• Cobras stars boost SWD squad

    Cape Cobras cricketers Aviwe Mgijima, Tladi Bokako, Nandre Burger and Akhona Mnyaka have been named in the South Western Districts squad for this month’s Provincial T20 Cup.

    Burger recently moved from the Lions to the Cobras and has exchanged the Cape Town Blitz for the Nelson Mandela Bay Giants in this year’s Mzansi Super League. Fellow left-arm seamer Mnyaka has also moved from the Blitz to the Giants.

    ‘The team will be captained by former SA U19 player Jean du Plessis and will be be boosted by four Cobras franchise players – Aviwe, Tladi, Nandre and Akhona Mnyaka,’ reads a statement from South Western Districts.

    ‘Together with local heroes such as Brendon Louw and Du Plessis, SWD will have a strong lineup.’

    The tournament used to be called the Africa T20 Cup. Gauteng, who were captained by Proteas batsman Temba Bavuma last year, are the reigning champions after beating Border in the final.

    ‘We take confidence from our preparations and there is a vibe of excitement for the weekend,’ added SWD coach Baakier Abrahams.

    Squad: Jean du Plessis (c), Neil Hornbuckle, Yamkela Oliphant, Heath Richards, Brendon Louw, Bailey Aarons, Aviwe Mgijima, Travis Ackermann, Mesuli Vuba, Tladi Bokako, Tsepo Ndwandwa, Nandre Burger and Akhona Mnyaka.

    Photo: Gallo Images

    Post by