• Central contracts for Rabada, Phangiso

    Cricket South Africa have handed one-year central contracts to fast bowlers Kagiso Rabada and Kyle Abbott and spinner Aaron Phangiso. Seamer Rory Kleinveldt and all-rounder Robin Peterson, meanwhile, have been removed from the list – and all-rounder Ryan McLaren retained.

    Abbott and Phangiso, involved in the ongoing World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, and Phangiso were on high performance contracts last season. Batsman Farhaan Behardien, spin bowler Dane Piedt and seamer Mthokozisi Shezi have since joined this category.

    ‘Last year we rewarded our key players with two-year contracts for the first time and we will continue with this practice by adding on another year to their contracts. They are world-class players and certainly deserve the recognition,’ said Cricket South Africa chief executive Haroon Lorgat.

    The veteran Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy, Morne Morkel and Dale Steyn, too, have been afforded an extra year on existing contracts.

    Two-year central contracts: Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn.

    One-year central contracts: Kyle Abbott, Quinton de Kock, Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

    High Performance contracts: Temba Bavuma, Farhaan Behardien, Simon Harmer, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Eddie Leie, Mangaliso Mosehle, Dane Piedt, Rilee Rossouw, Mthokozisi Shezi, Stiaan van Zyl, Khaya Zondo.

    Post by