• Bok squad for Proteas

    Jean de Villiers and Victor Matfield have both been included in the Springbok T20 cricket team who will play the Proteas at the Wanderers for the Nelson Mandela Legacy Cup on Friday 5 December.

    Matfield scored 23 runs from 23 balls and hit four fours against the Proteas in Cape Town earlier this year. The two Springbok centurions will be joined by Willem Alberts, who took two wickets in as many balls at Newlands, as well as Willie le Roux, who scored 16 from eight balls including a big six.

    Recently-retired Tiaan Liebenberg and Duane Vermeulen, one of the Springboks’ wicket-takers at Newlands, will also have another chance to showcase their cricketing skills.

    ‘Everyone had a blast playing against the Proteas last year and we’re looking forward to more of the same this year,’ said De Villiers from Cardiff, where the Springboks will play their final Test of 2014 against Wales on Saturday.

    ‘At this stage however, our focus is solely on Wales this weekend. Thereafter we’ll start putting our plans in place for the match at the Wanderers.

    ‘The match is for a good cause and we’re hoping for a sold-out crowd at the Bull Ring, which is a magnificent venue which has seen a number of superb performances in the past.’

    Flip van der Merwe, who is recovering from injury, has been appointed manager but the Springboks are yet to name their coach and captain for the match, which drew a sold-out crowd in Cape Town last year.

    The match celebrates the one year anniversary of Madiba’s death, will be played in his honour and in celebration of his legacy.

    The game will also be televised live on SuperSport 2.

    Tickets for the match are available from www.ticketpros.co.za and range from R90-R200. Fans will also be entertained on the day by top local artists. A signing session with selected members of both teams will also take place as well as the popular Hit-a-Six competition. A kicking competition has also been added to the festivities.

    Springbok squad: Jean de Villiers, Victor Matfield, Damian de Allende, Tiaan Liebenberg, Cornal Hendricks, Willie le Roux, Francois Hougaard, Bismarck du Plessis, Duane Vermeulen, Butch James, Willem Alberts, Handré Pollard, Jan Serfontein. Manager: Flip van der Merwe.

    Click here for the scoreboard from the last match

    Photo: Backpagepix

    Post by