• De Villiers scores big

    AB de Villiers was named the Cricketer of the Year at CSA’s annual awards ceremony in Sandton on Wednesday night.

    He beat out Dale Steyn, Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock and JP Duminy for the prize. The previous winners of the award are Jacques Kallis (2004 and 2011), Makhaya Ntini (2005 and 2006), Shaun Pollock (2007), Dale Steyn (2008), Graeme Smith (2009), Hashim Amla (2010 and 2013) and Vernon Philander (2012).

    It was a special evening for De Villiers, who won four awards in all – the only award for which he was nominated but did not win was the ODI Player of the Year, which went to Quinton de Kock, who scored four centuries in the period under review, including three in consecutive innings.

    De Villiers was also named Test Cricketer of the Year, was recognised by his peers as SA Players’ Player of the Year and, by popular vote of the public, SA Fans’ Cricketer of the Year.

    Other big winners on the night included Imran Tahir, named the T20I Cricketer of the Year, Marizanne Kapp, who collected the Women’s Cricketer of the Year award for the second time in a row, and the Dolphins’ Lance Klusener, who was given the Coach of the Year gong.

    The full list of awards reads as follows:

    SA Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers
    Test Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers
    ODI Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock
    T20I Cricketer of the Year: Imran Tahir
    SA Players’ Player of the Year: AB de Villiers
    SA Fans’ Player of the Year: AB de Villiers
    ‘So Good’ Award: Jacques Kallis (For his century vs India in his final Test at Kingsmead)
    Delivery of the Year: Dale Steyn (For bowling Brad Haddin, second Test match vs Australia at St. George’s)
    Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Marizanne Kapp
    Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Season: Justin Ontong (Cape Cobras)
    One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Season: Heino Kuhn (Titans)
    Domestic T20 Player of the Season: David Miller (Dolphins)
    Coach of the Year: Lance Klusener (Dolphins)
    Domestic Players’ Player of the Season: Kyle Abbott (Dolphins)
    CSA Umpire of the Year: Johan Cloete
    CSA Fair Play Award: Dolphins
    SACA Most Valuable Player Award: Kyle Abbott (Dolphins)
    CSA Umpires’ Umpire of the Year: Shaun George
    CSA Groundsman of the Year: Wilson Ngobese (Kingsmead)
    CSA Scorers’ Association of the Year: Gauteng Cricket Board

    Post by