• World T20 news round-up

    Sri Lanka fast bowler Lasith Malinga has hinted he might retire from T20I cricket after the World T20 tournament in India next month.

    Malinga made his comeback on Thursday night as Sri Lanka beat the United Arab Emirates by 14 runs in the Asia Cup. Malinga took 4-26 in his four overs after three months out with an injury to help his team successfully defend their total of 129.

    Towards the end of the post-match press conference, Malinga was asked if he would make a retirement announcement before the World T20 like Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara did in 2014.

    ‘There might be,’ was Malinga’s response with a smile, before there was a long pause which eventually ended the briefing.


    Johan Cloete and Marais Erasmus are the two South African umpire’s who will officiate at the T20 World Cup in India after the International Cricket Council named a 31-member match officials’ team for the tournament, which runs from 8 March to 3 April.

    The umpires’ panel includes two female umpires – New Zealand’s Kathleen Cross and Claire Polosak of Australia, who will become the first women to adjudicate at any T20 World Cup. They will officiate at the women’s T20 World Cup.

    The complete list of match officials is:
    Match referees – David Boon, Chris Broad, Jeff Crowe, Ranjan Madugalle, Andy Pycroft, Richie Richardson and Javagal Srinath.
    Umpires: Anil Chaudhary, Johan Cloete, Kathy Cross, Aleem Dar, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Simon Fry, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Ian Gould, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Vineet Kulkarni, Nigel Llong, Ranmore Martinesz, CK Nandan, Bruce Oxenford, Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Claire Polosak, Paul Reiffel, Chettithody Shamshuddin, Ravi Sundaram, Rod Tucker and Joel Wilson.

    Post by