• World Cup final: Six stats you need to know

    Six interesting statistics-based facts about England and New Zealand’s ODI record, ahead of Sunday’s World Cup final at Lord’s in London.

    2015’s survivors

    • New Zealand have five survivors – perhaps six, if Tim Southee is selected – from the 2015 World Cup final. Ross Taylor, Kane Williamson, Martin Guptill, Trent Boult and Matt Henry were all part of the XI defeated by Australia at the Melbourne Cricket Ground four years ago.

    Finals record

    • New Zealand have played in one World Cup final and England three. Neither have won a title. England suffered final defeats by the West Indies, Australia and Pakistan in 1979, 1987 and 1992, respectively.

    At Lord’s

    • England have never beaten New Zealand in an ODI at Lord’s. The Black Caps’ last ODI victory at this venue was in 2013, when opening batsman Martin Guptill struck a superb century. The Kiwis, though, were defeated by Australia at Lord’s last month.

    Morgan at Lord’s

    • Captain Eoin Morgan is just 91 runs away from becoming England’s leading ODI run-scorer at Lord’s. Former opener Marcus Trescothick’s 595 is the most, but a near century from Morgan on Sunday will yield a new leader.

    At Lord’s this World Cup

    • New Zealand have never gathered more than 266 runs in ODI competition at Lord’s, while England sport four totals of 300-plus. The average score at Lord’s by the team batting first this World Cup has been 288.

    Williamson vs Roy

    • Captain Kane Williamson’s ODI average against England is over 56 – a full eight runs more than a career aggregate of 48. Opening batsman Jason Roy’s average against New Zealand is less than 26, almost 18 runs fewer than a career aggregate of 43.

    Photo: Getty Images

    Post by