• Last time SA played bilateral ODI series in Aus …

    Australia last hosted South Africa for a bilateral ODI series in November 2014, when five matches turned up a four-one victory for the hosts.

    • First ODI, Perth: Australia won by 32 runs

    Vernon Philander took four key wickets in a hefty total from the hosts, whose top eight batsmen all reached double figures, but none managed more than George Bailey’s 70. AB de Villiers and David Millers struck half-centuries, but severely lacked support in an insufficient reply, as Nathan Coulter-Nile completed a Man of the Match four-for. Scorecard

    • Second ODI, Perth: South Africa won by three wickets

    The tourists replaced Ryan McLaren with Rilee Rossouw, weakening their bowling depth, which left Farhaan Behardien to deliver eight overs of part-time seam. The changed worked well in a low-scoring victory that required less than 70 overs of the allotted 100. Morne Morkel was named Man of the Match for a telling five-wicket haul. Scorecard

    • Third ODI, Canberra: Australia won by 73 runs

    Hashim Amla and Aaron Finch traded centuries in a match that saw Behardien and de Villiers share 14 overs, while McLaren remained on the sidelines. A host attack laden with specialist bowlers dominated a visiting order again afforded an additional batsman, unsuccessfully so this time. Scorecard

    • Fourth ODI, Melbourne: Australia won by four wickets

    Miller and de Villiers again formed the backbone of the Proteas’ middle order, as Pat Cummins proved rather expensive. De Villiers failed to convert to three figures, while Miller missed a half-ton. Steven Smith and Matthew Wade made no such mistakes, welcoming a century and 50, respectively in a tight win with one over to spare. Scorecard

    • Fifth ODI, Sydney: Australia won by two wickets

    With Morne Morkel back in the XI, alongside – rather than instead of – Wayne Parnell this time, South Africa threatened throughout the rain-affected encounter. Quninton de Kock’s century, too, was not enough, as half-centurions Finch, Smith and Shane Watson had the final say. Scorecard

    Post by

    Jonhenry Wilson