• Verreynne and Magala in ODI squad

    The uncapped Kyle Verreynne and Sisanda Magala have been named in the Proteas ODI squad for next month’s series against England.

    The squad also feature all-rounder Jon-Jon Smuts, batsman Janneman Malan, fast bowler Lutho Sipamla and spinner Bjorn Fortuin, who have been capped at T20I but not ODI level.

    ‘We are really pleased with the squad we have selected, it is a good indication of the depth that we have in the country. The road towards the 2023 Cricket World Cup starts now and we want players doing well in our domestic structures to see the rewards of the hard work that they have put in,’ said selection convenor Linda Zondi.

    ‘The pool that we build going forward is going to be vital in the selection of that 2023 World Cup squad but also without looking too far ahead, we are confident that we have players that will make South Africa proud in this ODI series against a confident England team.’

    Suspended Rabada: It hurts so much

    Wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock has replaced former captain Faf du Plessis, who is not in the 15-man squad.

    ‘We all know the quality of the player that Quinton has grown to become. Over the years, we have watched him grow in confidence and become one of the top ODI wicketkeeper-batsmen in the world. He has a unique outlook and manner in which he goes about his business and is tactically very street smart,’ added interim director of cricket Graeme Smith.

    ‘We are confident that the new leadership role will bring out the best in him as a cricketer and that he can take the team forward into the future and produce results that South Africans the world over can be very proud of. We wish him the very best in this new role and look forward to watching him make his mark in this series against the world champions.’

    Squad: Quinton de Kock (captain), Reeza Hendricks, Temba Bavuma, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Jon-Jon Smuts, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lutho Sipamla, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Sisanda Magala, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Janneman Malan, Kyle Verreynne.

    Photo: Gallo Images

    Post by