• Three players to watch: The Warriors

    After failing to reach the knockout phase of the recent Momentum One-Day Cup, the Warriors will be eager to do better in the CSA T20 Challenge. ANDRE HUISAMEN looks at three players who could help their cause.

    The Warriors are boosted by a number of Proteas players, who are particularly well suited for the T20 format. The Durban conditions should also benefit their preparations more than some of the other teams with the Warriors a possible dark horse throughout the competition.

    Wihan Lubbe

    The 28-year-old has a pretty decent T20 record and offers the Warriors a lot of all-round ability. Lubbe had a decent time in Potchefstroom with both bat and ball. He can be an important weapon to break vital partnerships, while his batting has improved a lot. Lubbe can also be used in different scenarios in the batting lineup, depending on the match situation.

    Anrich NortjeĀ 

    Nortje remains key to any bowling attack and his impact in the shorter format will be crucial for the Warriors’ chances of success. The paceman continues to show maturity in his growth as one of South Africa’s leading fast bowlers. He didn’t feature in the recent T20Is against Pakistan and had some time off to rest after the two Test series. Nortje should be refreshed and ready to steam in, hoping to deliver similar performances to last year’s IPL.

    Mthiwekhaya Nabe

    Nabe will be able to lead the attack alongside Nortje to strengthen the Warriors’ frontline arsenal. Nabe is also a player who continues to grow in all formats he plays in and has been a valuable asset to the Warriors in all competitions. He has proven that he is well capable of competing on the big stage and will be relishing the opportunity to bowl at some of the best batsmen in the country.

    Warriors squad: Sinethemba Qeshile (c), Gihahn Cloete, Jon-Jon Smuts, Wihan Lubbe, Lesiba Nqoepe, Marco Marais, Ayabulela Gqamane, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Anrich Nortje, Tshepo Ntuli, Mthiwekaya Nabe, Stefan Tait, Lizo Makosi, Triston Stubbs, Jade de Klerk.

    Post by

    Andre Huisamen