• Three players to watch: The Titans

    Heinrich Klaasen will lead a strong and experienced Titans team into the Cricket South Africa T20 Challenge. ANDRE HUISAMEN looks at three players who could be key to their success.

    The Titans were boosted by the return of a number of clinical T20 players, loaded with experience in the shortest format. The Pretoria outfit also have a whole host of Proteas regulars, who could provide an important advantage to their chances of winning the competition.

    READ: Three players to watch: The Lions

    Chris Morris

    The all-rounder hasn’t played cricket in South Africa for quite some time now and is a handy recruit for the Titans ahead of the T20 Challenge. Morris’ ability in this format needs no introduction, while his international experience will be a real plus. The Titans will have plenty of options to choose from for the week-long competition, with Morris offering the perfect all-round talent to be used in various situations. The 33-year-old could also be eyeing this as an opportunity to re-enter the Proteas squad.

    Simon Harmer

    Harmer’s return to South Africa is a major boost for the Titans with his ambitions clear to feature for the Proteas again. He also signalled an immediate warning to the spinners above him that he will put pressure on their selection. Having achieved tremendous success in the UK in all formats, Harmer will be eager to make his presence felt on the South African domestic scene. He will give the Titans an excellent spinning option to deploy.

    Tabraiz Shamsi

    Having risen to a career-best second spot in the ICC T20 bowling rankings, Shamsi will definitely be one of the danger bowlers in the competition. His ability to strike at key moments will come in handy for the Titans, who would possibly use him in tandem with Harmer. Shamsi has developed into arguably South Africa’s best spin bowler – at least in the shorter formats – and will provide the Titans with a real edge over their opponents.

    Titans squad: Heinrich Klaasen (c), Theunis de Bruyn, Grant Thomson, Henry Davids, Chris Morris, Sibonelo Makhanya, Dayyaan Galiem, Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Junior Dala, Okuhle Cele, Simon Harmer, Tabraiz Shamsi, Gregory Mahlokwana, Lungi Ngidi, Lizaad Williams.

    Post by

    Andre Huisamen