• Maharaj, Dala, Klaasen in, SA bowl first

    The Proteas have made three changes as Quinton de Kock elected to bowl first in a 45-over contest in Kandy.

    Covers were spread out around the ground all morning and afternoon as rain poured down in Pallekele. After great work from the groundsmen, stand-in captain De Kock’s first toss was delayed by just over two hours.

    The delayed toss means that the match will be a 45-over contest.

    De Kock won the toss and elected to bowl first. The aim would be to take one step closer to sealing a whitewash after the Proteas’ dominance in the first three ODIs.

    With Faf du Plessis out injured, the Proteas have made three changes. Keshav Maharaj, Junior Dala and Heinrich Klaasen are in and will replace Tabraiz Shamsi, Kagiso Rabada and Du Plessis. Dala is the 128th player to represent South Africa in ODIs.

    Reeza Hendricks retains the No 3 position after his debut ton the last time out.

    For Sri Lanka, Prabath Jayasuriya has been left out and Dasun Shanaka is back in.

    The Proteas are hunting a second consecutive 5-0 ODI series win over Sri Lanka. The last time the sides clashed, in South Africa in 2017, the Proteas cruised through all five ODIs.

    Sri Lanka will play for pride as they attempt to break an 11-match losing streak against the visitors that dates back to July 2014.

    ALSO READ: Sri Lanka vs Proteas preview (4th ODI)

    Proteas XI

    1. Hashim Amla
    2. Quinton de Kock (c)
    3. Reeza Hendricks
    4. Heinrich Klaasen
    5. JP Duminy
    6. David Miller
    7. Wiaan Mulder
    8. Andile Phehlukwayo
    9. Junior Dala
    10. Keshav Maharaj
    11. Lungi Ngidi

    Sri Lanka XI

    1. Niroshan Dickwella
    2. Upul Tharanga
    3. Kusal Mendis
    4. Kusal Perera
    5. Angelo Mathews (c)
    6. Thisara Perera
    7. Akila Dananjaya
    8. Suranga Lakmal
    9. Lakshan Sandakan
    10. Dasun Shanaka
    11. Lahiru Kumara


    Photo: Sameera Peiris/Gallo Images

    Post by

    Khalid Mohidin