• Taufel reveals ‘clear mistake’ in Stokes decision

    Former international umpire Simon Taufel has conceded England should have been awarded five runs, not six, after the ball ricocheted off all-rounder Ben Stokes’ bat – and to the boundary – during Sunday’s World Cup final against New Zealand at Lord’s in London.

    England were awarded the title after the two innings, and Super Over, were tied. Tournament rules, therefore, declared England the winners on the back of a superior boundary count.

    ‘It’s a clear mistake, it’s an error of judgment,’ Taufel, who is a member of the MCC laws sub-committee, told foxsports.com.au.

    ‘In the heat of what was going on, they thought there was a good chance the batsmen had crossed at the instant of the throw. Obviously television replays showed otherwise.

    ‘The difficulty you have here is you’ve got to watch batsmen completing runs, then change focus and watch for the ball being picked up, and watch for the release of the throw.

    ‘You also have to watch where the batsmen are at that exact moment. It’s unfair on England, New Zealand and the umpires involved to say it decided the outcome.’

    Black Caps captain Kane Williamson, meanwhile, has accepted the peculiar circumstances of the result.

    ‘It was a shame that the ball hit Stokes’ bat, but I just hope it doesn’t happen in moments like that. Unfortunately, that sort of thing happens from time to time. It’s a part of the game that we play. I don’t wish to nitpick, but I just hope it never happens in such moments ever again,’ added Williamson.

    Photo: Getty Images

    Post by