Dale Steyn has reflected on the day India batsman Sachin Tendulkar scored that famous ODI double century against the Proteas in 2010, claiming umpire Ian Gould made a horrible mistake with Tendulkar closing in on the significant milestone.
The Indian star became the very first player in ODI cricket history to notch up 200 in the format on a rather forgettable day for Steyn and his fellow bowlers.
India smashed South Africa to all corners of the Gwalior Stadium, posting a formidable total of 401-3 in their 50 overs.
Speaking on the Sky Sports Cricket Podcast with James Anderson this week, Steyn gave credit to Tendulkar’s heroics but admitted he was undone when he trapped the right-hander in front with Gould denying him the benefit of the big wicket.
‘He [Tendulkar] did score a lot of runs against us. He scored the first double hundred in ODI cricket, and it was against us in Gwalior. And I actually remember – I think I got him out lbw when he was about 190 odd. Gouldy [Ian Gould] was the umpire, and he gave him not out,’ said Steyn.
‘And I was like, “Why, why did you give him not out!? That’s so dead.” And he was like, “Mate, look around – if I gave him out, I won’t make it back to the hotel.”‘
Steyn, though, saw the funny side of it and paid huge tribute to Tendulkar’s stellar career and that historic day in Gwalior, where the Proteas suffered a 153-run defeat.
‘Especially in a place like India. You bowl a bad bowl, and he hits you for four – he’s on nought and he hits you for four in Mumbai, it feels like the world is closing in on you. He’s only on four not out, he may as well have been on 500.’
Photo: Manan Vatsyayana/AFP via Getty Images