• Smith, Warner join CPL

    Steve Smith and David Warner will participate in this season’s edition of the Caribbean Premier League. 

    Both players are currently serving 12-month bans from Cricket Australia for their role in the ball-tampering saga which took place during the third Test against the Proteas in Cape Town. This prevents them from playing for the national side or in any Australian domestic competitions.

    However, the bans have not deterred them from finding game time elsewhere. Despite being banned by their respective IPL franchises, the pair recently had the opportunity to captain their respective sides in the Canada T20 league. Smith led the Toronto Nationals and Warner the Winnipeg Hawks.

    In the CPL, Smith will join the Barbados Tridents, who are captained by West Indies all-rounder Jason Holder. The team also features New Zealand opener Martin Guptill and South Africa star Hashim Amla.

    Warner has joined the St Lucia Stars.

    The latest edition of the CPL will take place from 8 August to 16 September.

    The two players’ sides will face off on 17 August and 2 September.

    Post by