• SA’s ‘Top 5’ named

    Quinton de Kock’s outstanding first full season of international cricket was recognised when he was named as one of five South African Cricket Annual Cricketers of the Year on Tuesday.

    Also honoured at the launch of the 2014 South African Cricket Annual were David Miller, Heino Kuhn, Justin Ontong and Stiaan van Zyl.

    The South African Cricket Annual is one of the most respected publications of its type in the world, providing a detailed, accurate record of South African cricket, with reports and scores of all major matches as well as comprehensive records and statistics.

    The 688-page 2014 edition includes in-depth coverage of two of the most significant events that affected South African cricket during the past year.

    Former teammate and ex-Proteas coach, Gary Kirsten, pays tribute to Jacques Kallis and Graeme Smith, two of South Africa’s greatest cricketers, who retired last season. The tribute is accompanied by a detailed statistical analysis of both players.

    Editor Colin Bryden provides full coverage of the events that led to the reshaping of the International Cricket Council, with the ‘Big Three’ of India, England Australia effectively taking control of the world body.

    bizhub Highveld Lions wicketkeeper-batsman De Kock, 22, established himself in the Proteas side across all three international formats during the period covered by the Annual. He hit five one-day international centuries – including three in a row against India.

    Miller was the main driving force as the Sunfoil Dolphins won the RAM SLAM T20 Challenge and played one of the most exciting innings of the season when he thrashed an unbeaten 93 off 37 balls in the semifinal against the Titans.

    The Unlimited Titans stalwart, Kuhn, was the leading run-scorer in the Momentum One-Day Cup and performed consistently in other competitions for his franchise.

    Ontong topped the national averages and Van Zyl was the leading run-scorer as the Nashua Cape Cobras won the Sunfoil Series four-day competition. Ontong was also recognised for his captaincy of the Western Cape team.

    Players can only be honoured once in their careers as a South African Cricket Annual Cricketer of the Year.

    Post by