• Proteas WC warm-up fixtures

    A series of World Cup warm-ups were announced on Tuesday that will be played in the week preceding the global showpiece.

    South Africa will get a stern test when they face Sri Lanka and New Zealand in the land of the long white cloud. England take on the West Indies and Pakistan, and Australia will play reigning champions India.

    A total of 14 games will be played at Adelaide, Melbourne, Sydney and Christchurch from February 8-13 ahead of the tournament proper, jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand, starting on February 14.

    The matches are not official one-dayers and will operate under slightly different rules, with up to 15 players able to be used but no more than 11 players at any one time. This allows all the bowlers in the squad to get a chance to stretch their legs in the field, while a lineup of batsmen will be able to stake a claim for a berth in the starting XI.

    ‘The public will be welcome to attend warm-up matches which will be ticketed but free of charge,’ said the International Cricket Council.

    Warm-up schedule:

    February 8: India v Australia at Adelaide

    February 9: South Africa v Sri Lanka at Christchurch; New Zealand v Zimbabwe at Christchurch; England v West Indies at Sydney, Pakistan v Bangladesh at Sydney

    February 10: Ireland v Scotland at Sydney; India v Afghanistan at Adelaide

    February 11: New Zealand v South Africa at Christchurch; Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe at Christchurch; Australia v UAE at Melbourne; England v Pakistan at Sydney

    February 12: West Indies v Scotland at Sydney, Ireland v Bangladesh at Sydney

    February 13: Afghanistan v UAE at Sydney

    Photo: Backpagepix

    Post by