• Proteas squad unchanged

    The Proteas have named an unchanged squad for the second half of this month’s four-Test series against England.

    Fast bowler Dane Paterson, all-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo, batsman Temba Bavuma and wicketkeeper Rudi Second have been retained in the squad, despite not playing in the first half of the series.

    Paterson, meanwhile, might debut in the third Test at St George’s Park.

    ‘The starting XI from the Newlands Test, along with Paterson will travel to Port Elizabeth, while the rest of the players will remain with their franchise teams to play in the 4-Day Domestic Series,’ read a statement from Cricket South Africa.

    ‘The selection panel are placing an emphasis on the importance of game time for non-starting players and prefer that they are available to their teams to help boost the competition. They will join the national team if and when required.’

    The Proteas won the first Test in Centurion. They lost the second Test in Cape Town.

    New magazine issue: Why De Kock must bat at four

    Squad: Faf du Plessis (Titans), Quinton de Kock (Titans), Dean Elgar (Titans), Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins), Rassie van der Dussen (Lions), Pieter Malan (Cape Cobras), Zubayr Hamza (Cape Cobras), Anrich Nortje (Warriors), Dane Paterson (Cape Cobras), Vernon Philander (Cape Cobras), Dwaine Pretorius (Lions), Kagiso Rabada (Lions), Temba Bavuma (Lions), Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins), Beuran Hendricks (Lions), Rudi Second (Warriors).

    Photo: Gallo Images

    Post by