• Proteas face Pakistan in New Year Test

    The Proteas will face Zimbabwe, Pakistan and Sri Lanka at home during the 2018-19 season which kicks off in September. 

    CSA announced another jampacked home-fixture list for the Proteas on Monday. But unlike the 2017-18 season – when they faced Bangladesh, India and Australia – Ottis Gibson will have a much easier list of competitors.

    This time around, Zimbabwe, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will be the Proteas’ opponents, giving the home side the perfect opportunity to improve their ranking positions across all formats.

    The international season starts with a three-match series against Zimbabwe in both ODIs and T20Is from the end of September to the middle of October.

    Pakistan will follow during the festive season, starting off with a three-match Test series. The first Test will kick off at SuperSport Park on Boxing Day for the first time since 1992, followed by the traditional New Year Test at Newlands and the final Test match at the Wanderers in mid-January.

    This will be followed by five ODIs and three T20Is.

    Sri Lanka start their tour in mid-February with a two-match Test series starting at Kingsmead and ending at St George’s Park.  This will be followed by five ODIs and three T20Is.

    ‘We are pleased to announce the complete schedule of international cricket for our home season,’ said acting chief executive Thabang Moroe. ‘It is going to be a very busy period and a very big one for our Proteas who will be using the programme of 13 ODIs against three different opponents in addition to the away tours to fine-tune their preparations for the 2019 ICC World Cup to be played in England and Wales commencing on 30 May next year.

    ‘Following the outstanding Test match cricket played by the Proteas during the past season we can also look forward to plenty more world-class entertainment by our acknowledged stars during the five Test matches against Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

    ‘By taking the Zimbabwe tour to some of our smaller venues we are also creating the opportunity for our fans around the country to see the Proteas in action.

    ‘Our fans now also have the opportunity to make their holiday plans in good time so that they can watch the Proteas in action in their favourite formats.’

    Zimbabwe tour itinerary 2018: 
    30 September: 10:00, 1st ODI, Diamond Oval, Kimberley (Day)
    3 October: 13:00, 2nd ODI, Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein (D/N)
    6 October: 13:00, 3rd  ODI, Boland Park, Paarl (D/N)
    9 October: 18:00, 1st T20 International, Buffalo Park, East London (D/N)
    12 October: 18:00, 2nd T20 International, Senwes Park, Potchefstroom (D/N)
    14 October: 14:30, 3rd T20 International, Willowmoore Park, Benoni (Day)

    Pakistan tour itinerary 2018-19:
    19-21 December: 10:00, three-day tour match v SA Invitation XI, Willowmoore Park, Benoni
    26-30 December: 10:00, 1st Test match, SuperSport Park, Centurion
    3-7 January: 10:30, 2nd Test match, Newlands, Cape Town
    11-15 January: 10:00, 3rd Test match, Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
    19 January: 13:00, 1st ODI, Port Elizabeth (D/N)
    22 January: 13:00, 2nd ODI, Kingsmead, Durban (D/N)
    25 January: 13:00, 3rd ODI, SuperSport Park, Centurion (D/N)
    27 January;  10:00, 4th ODI, Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg (Day)
    30 January: 13:00, 5th ODI, Newlands, Cape Town (D/N)
    1 February: 18:00, 1st T20 International, Newlands, Cape Town (D/N)
    2 February: 14:30, 2nd T20 International, Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg (Day)
    6 February: 18:00, 3rd T20 International, SuperSport Park, Centurion (D/N)

    Sri Lanka tour itinerary 2019:
    13-17 February: 10:00, 1st Test match, Kingsmead, Durban
    21-25 February: 10:00, 2nd Sunfoil Test match, St. George’s Park, Port Elizabeth
    28 February: 10:00, One-Day tour match v SA Invitation XI, Willowmoore Park, Benoni (Day)
    3 March: 10:00, 1st ODI, Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg (Day)
    6 March: 13:00, 2nd ODI, SuperSport Park, Centurion (D/N)
    10 March: 10:00, 3rd ODI, Kingsmead, Durban (Day)
    13 March: 13:00, 4th ODI, St. George’s Park, Port Elizabeth (D/N)
    16 March: 13:00, 5th ODI, Newlands, Cape Town (D/N)
    19 March: 18:00, 1st T20 International, Newlands, Cape Town (D/N)
    22 March: 18:00, 2nd T20 International, SuperSport Park, Centurion (D/N)
    24 March: 14:30, 3rd T20 International, Wanderers Stadium (Day)

    Photo: Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images

    Post by