• Proteas opt to bat

    AB de Villiers has won the toss and elected to bat first in the Pool B match against the West Indies in Sydney.

    The big news is that all-rounder JP Duminy has been ruled out of this match. The Proteas are already without Vernon Philander, who has a hamstring injury. Wayne Parnelll has been dropped following his wayward bowling performance against India last Sunday.

    Rilee Rossouw has been brought into the team, and will bat at No 4. Other changes see Farhaan Behardien and Kyle Abbott included.

    The only change to the West Indies side that beat Zimbabwe sees spinner Sulieman Benn replacing Nikita Miller.

    South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wk), Faf du Plessis,  Rilee Rossouw, AB de Villiers (c), David Miller,  Farhaan Behardien, Dale Steyn, Kyle Abbott, Morné Morkel, Imran Tahir.

    West Indies:  Dwayne Smith, Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Jonathan Carter, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Lendl Simmons, Darren Sammy, Andre Russell, Jason Holder (c), Jerome Taylor,  Sulieman Benn.