• Proteas nominated for top awards

    The ICC have announced the short-listed players for their prestigious awards ceremony, with AB de Villiers, Dale Steyn and Quinton de Kock all in the running.

    De Villiers has been nominated for the ICC cricketer of the year award, alongside Mitchell Johnson, Angelo Mathews & Kumar Sangakkara. It is the biggest award and would cap a special year for De Villiers, who has seen the Test and ODI team reach the No 1 ranking in the world.

    Despite South Africa being the best Test side on the planet, no Proteas are in line for the Test cricketer of the year award. The nominees are Mitchell Johnson, Angelo Mathews, Kumar Sangakkara & David Warner.

    By contrast, South Africans dominate the nominations for the ODI player of the year award. De Kock, De Villiers and Steyn will fight it out with Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni for the honour.

    De Villiers and Steyn were also included in both the Test and ODI team of the year. Here are the two sides that were chosen by the ICC.

    ICC Test Team of the Year

    Warner, Williamson, Sangakkara, De Villiers, Root, Mathews, Johnson, Broad, Steyn, Herath, Southee, Taylor.

    ICC ODI Team of the Year:

    Hafeez, De Kock, Kohli, Bailey, De Villiers, Dhoni, Bravo, Faulkner, Steyn, Shami, Mendis.

    The awards show is set for global broadcast on the weekend of 15/16 November. Only then will we see who walks away the big winner.

    Photo: Backpagepix

    Post by