• Proteas eye final birth

    We preview the sixth game of the Triangular series, between South Africa and Zimbabwe, taking place on Thursday, 3 September at 9:30am.

    It’s the final game of the pool stages and unbelievably there is still doubt about who will join Australia in Saturday’s final. The Proteas have the inside lane because they only need to prevent Zimbabwe from achieving a bonus point to ensure their spot in the showpiece match.

    The fact that the hosts still have a chance to qualify is a credit to their fighting spirit. They beat Australia last time out and will be confident in producing another giant killing performance. South Africa will not underestimate the confident Zimbabweans and are expected to field a full strength team.

    The off-spin duo of Prosper Utseya and John Nyumbu will once again be the biggest threat on a slow surface. In the previous encounter between the neighbours, they caused havoc. It will have to happen again for Zimbabwe to stand a chance.

    After starting against the ball coming onto the bat, South Africa will want their top-order to take responsibility and bat through the middle overs against the spinners. Hashim Amla has done this more than anyone else in the team and is due a few runs, so expect the silent warrior to come good.

    An easy win for South Africa, who will want to make a statement after going down to Australia.

    South Africa – AB de Villiers (c), Hashim Amla, Kyle Abbott, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Rilee Rossouw, Mthokozisi Shezi, Dale Steyn.

    Zimbabwe – Elton Chigumbura (c), Tendai Chatara, Luke Jongwe, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Neville Madziva, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Shingi Masakadza, Tino Mawoyo, Natsai M’shangwe, Cuthbert Musoko, Richmond Mutumbami, John Nyumbu, Vusi Sibanda, Sikandar Raza, Brendan Taylor, Donald Tiripano, Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams.

    Preview compiled by Gareth Stevens.

    The game starts at 9:30am on Thursday, 3 September. Follow us on Facebook and Twitter for regular score updates.

     Photo: Backpagepix

    Post by