• Proteas can win R45m at CWC

    South Africa will take home the equivalent of R45-million if they go through next year’s Cricket World Cup unbeaten.

    The International Cricket Council announced a 20 per cent increase in prizemoney for next year’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand. The winners will win $4.3-million – but if a team remains unbeaten that would rise to more than $4.6-million.

    A total of $11.5-million, an increase of approximately 20 per cent over the 2011 World Cup, will be available, according to the ICC. The 2011 edition jointly hosted by India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka had prizemoney of $9.2m.

    The decision was taken at a two-day ICC Board meeting in Dubai. Playing conditions were also finalised for the World Cup which will be held from 14 February to 29 March.

    The ICC also announced that the Decision Review System (DRS) would be used in all 49 matches and that there would only be reserve days in the knock-out phase.

    It also added that there would be no super over in tied matches in the knock-out phase.

    In case of a tied quarter-final and semi-final, the side finishing in the higher position in the group stage would progress.

    If the final is tied or if the match is a no-result, then the teams will be declared joint winners.

    What the Proteas stand to win

    R45-million: Go unbeaten throughout the tournament.

    R42-million: Lose a match but win the final.

    R6.7-million: Losing semi-finalists.

    R3.4-million: Losing quarter-finalists

    R505 000: To win the group.

    R390 000: Knocked out in the group stages.

     Photo: Backpagepix

    Post by