• SA bowl first with unchanged XI

    Sri Lanka won the toss and have sent the Proteas in to bowl first in the second ODI in Dambulla. 

    The Proteas remain unchanged for the second ODI.

    Despite their dominant five-wicket win in the first ODI, the Proteas still have room for improvement.

    This contest will be a major test for Hashim Amla, Aiden Markram and David Miller, who failed to impress in the previous ODI.

    Amla has particularly struggled. In seven innings so far this year, he averages 24.71, with a strike rate of 80. He will hope to draw from his record of two centuries in his six innings in Sri Lanka, with an average of 62.

    In the bowling department, captain Faf du Plessis will look to utilise his two young all-rounders more effectively.

    For the home side, Kasun Rajitha and left-arm spinner Prabath Jayasuriya are making their ODI debuts.

    Two pitches were prepared, but the same surface from the first ODI was picked. It is, however, a little dryer than it was on Sunday.

    ALSO READ: Sri Lanka vs Proteas preview (2nd ODI)

    Proteas XI
    1. Hashim Amla
    2. Quinton de Kock
    3. Aiden Markram
    4. Faf du Plessis (c)
    5. JP Duminy
    6. David Miller
    7. Wiaan Mulder
    8. Andile Phehlukwayo
    9. Kagiso Rabada
    10. Tabraiz Shamsi
    11. Lungi Ngidi

    Sri Lanka XI
    1. Niroshan Dickwella
    2. Upul Tharanga
    3. Kusal Mendis
    4. Kusal Perera
    5. Angelo Mathews (c)
    6. Thisara Perera
    7. Shehan Jayasuriya
    8. Akila Dananjaya
    9. Suranga Lakmal
    10. Prabath Jayasuriya
    11. Kasun Rajitha


    Photo: Ishara S. Kodikara/AFP/Getty Images

    Post by

    Khalid Mohidin