• Proteas bat first at Wanderers

    Hardus Viljoen will make his Test debut at the Wanderers while Dane Vilas replaces the injured Quinton de Kock.

    Viljoen comes in as the fourth seamer on his home ground in place of Dane Piedt, who was released to the Cobras on Wednesday to play in the Sunfoil Series.

    De Kock slipped and sprained his knee at home yesterday afternoon. He initially thought it wasn’t serious but woke up after midnight in pain. He will go for a scan to determine the extent of the injury.

    Vilas flew to Johannesburg from Port Elizabeth and will arrive at around 11am, but won’t have to keep immediately.

    AB de Villiers won the toss and decided to bat first.

    Shaun Pollock said at the toss report that he can’t remember seeing so much grass on a Wanderers pitch before, but stressed that there wasn’t a lot of moisture in the pitch.

    South Africa: Dean Elgar, Stiaan van Zyl, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers (capt), Faf du Plessis, Temba Bavuma, Dane Vilas (wk), Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Hardus Viljoen, Morne Morkel.

    England: Alastair Cook (capt), Alex Hales, Nick Compton, Joe Root, James Taylor, Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Moeen Ali, Stuart Broad, Jimmy Anderson, Steven Finn.

    For ball-by-ball commentary, click below:


    Post by